The Sylheti Language Conference

Date: 12 May 2016 Time: 9:15 AM

Finishes: 12 May 2016 Time: 6:00 PM

Venue: Russell Square: College Buildings Room: B102

Type of Event: Conference

SOAS is happy to announce the first conference on Sylheti. For the last 3 years, the students and faculty members in the Linguistics Department have worked together with members of the Surma Community Centre in Camden to document the Sylheti language. The Sylheti Project and the Sylheti Language Society are the results of this initiative. Taking inspiration and encouragement from the Sylheti-speaking population in London, the projects endeavour not only to document Sylheti as it is spoken in Camden, but also to teach it. We invite all scholars from the fields including but not limited to: linguistics, sociolinguistics, linguistic anthropology, musicology, etc., who can add to the discussion of the Sylheti language and/or its comparative aspects.

Call for Papers

Abstracts for presentations or posters are now invited for the 1st SOAS Sylheti Conference. Presentations will be 20 minutes followed by 10 minutes of discussion.Abstracts should be no more than one A4 page in length including references and examples. They should be anonymous, and set in a minimum of 12pt font. Indicate in the message title whether you want to be considered for a presentation, poster, or both.

Please submit your abstract through Linguist List EasyAbs.

The deadline for the submission of all abstracts is Monday 15 February 2015.

A response will be sent to you by 1 March 2015.

We hope you will help make our Sylheti Language Conference a success!


The programme of the 1st SOAS Sylheti Conference can be accessed  here.

Registration and Fees

  • Students/presenters/unwaged: £6
  • Professionals: £12

The fees cover the refreshments provided the day of the conference.

Please register with The Sylheti Language Conference HERE ( to register for the conference)


Candide Simard, Marie Thaut, Emily Gref, Andriana Koumbarou, Anna Cronin, Anu Bhaskararaman, Breanna Lewis, Caoife Garvey, Daniel Vincent, Eveling Villa, Harry Willoughby, Jean Rohleder, Jonas Lau, Martha Tsutsui, Rebecca Orford, Robert Laub, Sarah Dopierala, Waran Kangeyan, and Zurab Baratashvili.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s